Orange County Domestic Violence Defense Lawyers
Physical, Emotional and Sexual Spousal & Child Abuse Defense Attorneys in California
Domestic violence is a serious accusation that will most likely result in criminal
charges. California domestic violence cases are particularly tricky because it is
not always the alleged victim’s choice of whether to press charges. Even when
the alleged victim does not want to file charges, it will be entirely in the hands
of the prosecuting attorney to make the decision of whether to pursue a criminal
An Orange County criminal lawyer
at Coffey & Coffey can give you a
free case evaluation regarding your domestic violence charges. By consulting
a lawyer at our firm as soon as possible, we can get to work and investigate the
circumstances of the original accusation or police call and find ways that we may
be able to negotiate with the prosecuting attorney so no formal charges are filed.
When our defense lawyers are involved early enough, this is a real possibility in
some cases. The time, expense and damage to your reputation that will be saved from
early intervention by a skilled attorney at Coffey & Coffey are immense.
Additionally, the Orange County defense attorneys at Coffey & Coffey can help
an individual accused of domestic violence that has had a
restraining order filed against him or her. With the help of an attorney
at our firm, we may be able to get this restraining order lifted so you can go home
and get back into contact with your family. Some of the areas of practice our defense
lawyers handle include:
- Restraining orders
- Orders of protection
- Child abuse
- Spousal abuse
- Domestic violence
Please visit our
Orange County Domestic Violence Attorneys
website for more information about domestic violence defense.
Orange County Domestic Violence Charges
When a person is convicted of the criminal act of domestic violence in Orange County,
he or she will face severe penalties. Domestic violence, depending upon the circumstances,
may be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony offense. When charged as a felony, the
- Up to 4 years in state prison
- A fine of up to $6,000
- Domestic violence against a child will involve a state prison sentence of up to
6 years, along with fines.
Domestic violence itself occurs when a person physically, sexually or emotionally
abuses another person – a spouse, ex-spouse, cohabitant, family member, girlfriend
or boyfriend. Spousal abuse, spousal rape, child abuse, elder abuse, neglect and
child endangerment are all forms of domestic violence and will carry steep penalties
for an individual convicted of these acts.
Contact an Orange County domestic violence defense
lawyer at Coffey & Coffey to see how we can defend your case
and help you avoid the harsh penalties associated with a domestic violence conviction!